From Chesterton

A friend emailed this:

“Men always talk about the most important things to perfect strangers. In the perfect stranger we perceive man himself; the image of a God is not disguised by resemblances to an uncle or doubts of wisdom of a mustache.” -G.K. Chesterton.

Not sure if this is a thumbs-up for the blog or a suggestion that I’m over-sharing…but oddly comforting nonetheless.

One response to “From Chesterton

  1. I think we feel free when we speak to strangers, no obligations, no history of quarrels… yet I love to talk with my old friends too.

    Dostojevskij said in Brothers Karamazov: You can´t love Man or mankind, it´s easy to do in your dreams, but to love for real, in your relations to family and people you meet,
    is something else. When you try to do it you feel all your shortcomings and lack of courage. Then the goal is near. When you are weak you suddenly see the love from God, how he has been secretly guiding you, to see and understand more without judging others or yourself.(starets Zosima )
    By the way, I listened to your Film Talk 74 and I really liked it. Seeing Dmitry Trakovsky´s film
    really made me feel more alive , enriched and lead me to read Tarkovsky and see his films again.