For What It’s Worth: Oscar and I Have a Disagreement

Oscar‘s Ten Best Films of the Year:

Black Swan

The Fighter

Inception

The Kids Are Alright

The King’s Speech

127 Hours

The Social Network

Toy Story 3

True Grit

Winter’s Bone

My Ten Favorite Films of the Year (podcast review here):

Carlos

Hereafter

The Book of Eli

Lourdes

And Everything is Going Fine

Enter the Void

Howl

I am Love

Inception

Shutter Island

One response to “For What It’s Worth: Oscar and I Have a Disagreement

  1. Hey Gareth, would be interested to hear your thoughts on the death of Osama Bin Laden. I am finding the footage of people celebrating death in America eerily similar to the footage of celebrations in the middle east after 9/11. Does this in fact mean Osama has won? I also worry that as a martyr now he will weild more influence than he ever did alive. He has infected the west with hate…

    ‘I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr

    What does this mean for us? What was/is the proper response to Osama’s indiscriminant and joyful hate?

    How do we communicate love to these people?

    Andrew

    p.s. glad to hear The Film Talk lives on